Total Donors
Supporting Subscribers
Year-ending Campaign
of our operating budget came from donations, allowing for critical investments in reporting, photography and editing


Print + Digital Subscribers
Newsletter Subscribers
In Grants
Since 2019, our community has invested more than $7 million in philanthropic support to help strengthen our newsroom

Where Our Support Comes From


To the many donors and grantors who so generously supported our work in 2022. As part of our commitment to transparency, The Salt Lake Tribune publishes the names of all of those who make gifts totaling $5,000 and above.

If you would like to learn more about the benefits Tribune supporters receive, contact development director Jessica Sweeney at

$100,000 and up

Zions Bank
Google Discover
Clark and Christine Ivory Foundation
Tim and Jane Sullivan

$50,000 – $99,999

Lark and Craig Galli, In honor of Vella and Wayne Evans
Mark and Kathie Miller
Report for America National Organization
Rocky Mountain Power
Swartz Foundation
The Call Foundation
The James S. and John L. Knight Foundation

$25,000 – $49,999

Crocker Catalyst Foundation
International Center for Journalists
Northwestern University | Medill
The Cumming Foundation

$10,000 – $24,999

B.W. Bastian Foundation
Gibson Family Foundation
Joseph M. Simmons Foundation

The Downtown Alliance – Salt Lake City
Val A. Browning Charitable Foundation
Willard L Eccles Charitable Foundation

$5,000 – $9,999

Barbara Watkins
Barry Baker
Colette Blakey
Columbia University
Constance Baring-Gould

Jaquelyn & Gregory Zehner Foundation
John and Marcia Price
Kevin Garn

Lawrence T. and Janet T. Dee Foundation

Nerus Strategies, LLC
S.J. and Jessie E. Quinney Foundation Household
University of Colorado

First Amendment Society

donors committed to donating at least $1,000 a year for three years

Lifeline – $10,000

Ben D.
Bruce and Diana Bugbee
C. Peel
Elaine Klein and Craig Wallentine
Frank-Ratchye Family Fund
John and Anne Milliken
Kanter Family Foundation

Deadline – $5,000

Dinesh and Kalpana Patel
George and Mary Hall
Greg Skordas and Rebecca Hyde Skordas
H.O. Whiteside Fund
Linda Leckman, MD
Randy Dryer

Headline – $2,500

Angie Welling
Ashish Patel
Ed and Lu Sweeney
Jonathan M. Ruga
Nancy and George Melling
Patricia and Robert Bayer
Robert Rolfs
Ronna Cohen and Stan Rosenzweig
Sheryl Scott
Tom Love

Byline – $1,000

Andrew and Claire Bjelland
Art Lipson and Rochelle Kaplan
Bob and Sally Schramm
Brad and Lisa Crandell
Bruce and Diana Juhlin
Carl and Vanessa Laurella
Ciel Hunter
Cook-Scholnick Fund
David Bennett
Dave Patel
Dick and Susan Rosetta
Erik & Kristin Olson
Erin Laney Barr
Francoise Hibbs
Fraser Nelson
Fred Esplin
Garry Blake and Karen Winslow-Blake
Gary Harding
Gary G. Sackett and Toni Marie Sutliff
Ginny and Gerry Rothstein
Gerald R. and Virginia S. Rothstein
Glenn Ricart and Patricia Guenther
Howard and Ray Grossman Charitable Fund
James E. Shelledy
James Roberts
James and Carol Scott
Jane and Kim Blair
Jean M. Lown and W. Bryan Dixon
Jerry Borrowman
Jim Gaddis
Jones Waldo / Parsons Behle & Latimer
Kristen Carroll, MD
Mary Corporoncand Fred Hightower
Mary Lynne Hulme and Andrew Krcik
Mark Miller and Renai Bodley Miller
Michael H. Bourne
Nancy Melich and Lex Hemphill
Pat and Mac Dalgleish
Patrick A. Shea
Paul and Carol Wetzel
Peter and Kathleen Metcalf
Richard Badenhausen and Katherine Venti
Robert and Linda Keiter
Salzberg Family
Sherri Devashrayee Wittwer and J. David Wittwer
Steve Mecham
Thomas VanWinkle
Tim and Amy Haran Charitable Fund
Tyler Riggs
Zach and Lauren Selby

Become a member of the First Amendment Society, a group of dedicated, generous individuals who believe that the free press and The Tribune are vital to the health of our community, our state and our democracy. Members receive exclusive opportunities for updates and invitations to special mission-related events and meet a few times a year to share their thoughts with us. They also receive an annual digital subscription to The New York Times.

For more information on how to join the First Amendment Society, contact Development Director at

Board members

Paul C. Huntsman

Erin Laney Barr

Randy Dryer

Fred Esplin

Jorge Fierro

Ciel Hunter 

Ashish Patel

Dave Patel

Tom Love

Tessa Arneson

James E. Shelledy

You have made this transition possible. Your support — via a subscription or a donation, by reading online at or by picking up this paper today at a store — is the reason we are here at the end of a long road and eagerly approaching the turn onto a new path.

Every dollar invested – in a subscription, via a donation or in advertising – is deposited back into our communities through more local news and information.

We are a 152-year-old startup. With your help, we can provide even greater and lasting benefit to our communities. Thank you for joining us on this journey.

(Rick Egan | The Salt Lake Tribune)
(Trent Nelson | The Salt Lake Tribune)
(Trent Nelson | The Salt Lake Tribune)
(Francisco Kjolseth | The Salt Lake Tribune)